Review: Winter Dark

Posted 21st May 2020 by Emma in Reviews / 1 Comment

This post contains affiliate links you can use to purchase the book. If you buy the book using that link, I will receive a small commission from the sale.

Review: Winter DarkWinter Dark by Alex Callister
Also by this author: Winter Rising
Series: The Winter Series #1
Also in this series: Winter Rising
Published by Bookouture on 7th January 2020
Genres: Crime, Suspense
Pages: 336
Format: eBook
Source: I bought it
Goodreads
Amazon Kindle

A girl with wide brown eyes looks into the camera. Below her picture, a clock ticks down. Cold traces the back of my neck, pricks my hairline. I will find you, I whisper.
It has been ten years since Winter – a headstrong loner with a broken past – was pulled off a mountain by special forces with the aim of turning her into the Secret Service’s most effective field agent. Now, she has just two weeks to bring down the head of a formidable criminal organisation, Alek Konstantin, before an innocent girl is murdered by a twisted killer in front of an online audience of millions.
Going deep undercover disguised as a paid assassin – alias Snow White – Winter’s aim is to infiltrate Konstantin’s inner circle. Calculating, charismatic and totally in control, he holds the girl’s fate in his hands. But every time Winter gets close to him, he melts away. He’s like a shadow, and yet he knows things about Winter – dark secrets she’s never told anyone. Who is he, and how can she reach him in time to save the girl?
Then Winter finds the body of a man from her past, stuffed in a dumpster with a bullet through his forehead, and things begin to fall into place. But with the girl’s death growing closer with every tick of the clock, and Winter’s protective shell starting to crack, does she have what it takes to bring down Konstantin before the clock hits zero?
Impossible to put down, Winter Dark is an action-packed and twisty read with a heroine you won’t forget. Perfect for fans of Lee Child, Sandra Brown and The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo.
Please note: this book contains scenes of a sexual nature.

One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

As I am on the blog tour for Winter Rising later today I thought it would be the perfect time to catch up. This is the first book I have read by this author.

The main character is Winter. Winter is a rebel. Winter doesn’t really like the rules and tends to break them. quite spectacularly. I LOVED Winter. She is super smart and a whizz with a laptop. She is also very confident, sometimes overconfident which causes her a few problems. I wish I had some of her confidence.

At first, I found it difficult to read. I was enjoying it but I found I had to really focus to work out what was going on. I am not familiar with the GCHQ and how it works so I think it took me a while to get into the language. Once I got through that the story flowed and the pace was just right. I really started care about Winter and could feel myself getting very nervous and scared for her on multiple occasions.

This is not your average police procedural book. This is more high stakes, undercover almost spy story. I point this out because I didn’t realise this going in and it made the first part of the book harder to read. By the end of the book, I was so engrossed I could not put it down! I was sad to see it end and immediately started the second book. I just had to go back to Winter and see where she went next.

This book was something different for me. I have watched TV shows which were similar but this is the first book I have read like this. I really enjoyed it and I will be on the look out for more.

About Alex Callister

Alex Callister is the pseudonym of an industry expert on media, telecoms and internet stocks. She studied history at Oxford and the British School at Rome and was set for a career in academia until the beginning of the tech boom woke a lifelong interest in internet shares. Alex has spent her career visiting high security web hosting sites and speculating on what might go wrong.

Emma

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:


One response to “Review: Winter Dark

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.