Blog Tour Review: Shadow Falls

Posted 26th January 2021 by Emma in Blog Tours, Reviews / 2 Comments

Blog Tour Review: Shadow Falls

I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

This post contains affiliate links you can use to purchase the book. If you buy the book using that link, I will receive a small commission from the sale.

Blog Tour Review: Shadow FallsShadow Falls by Wendy Dranfield
Also by this author: Cry for Help, Little Girl Taken
Series: Detective Madison Harper #1
Also in this series: Cry for Help, Little Girl Taken
Published by Bookouture on 25th January 2021
Genres: Crime, Suspense, Thriller
Pages: 391
Format: eARC
Source: from Netgalley
Goodreads
Amazon Kindle

You thought your little girl was safe at summer camp. You were wrong…
The little girl drags her eyes open, realizing she’s starting to fade. She tries calling out—“Daddy?”—using all her remaining strength. But she’s too late and her voice just isn’t loud enough…
When Detective Madison Harper arrives at a remote summer camp in Shadow Falls, northern California, her heart breaks for Jenny, the sweet little girl last seen splashing in the lake with her friends before she vanished. Peering into the silent cabins filled with rows of neatly made beds, Madison knows this idyllic place is hiding a terrible secret.
The girl’s parents are distraught, and the local police have no leads—they desperately need Madison’s help. She’ll do whatever it takes to crack this case, because it’s the only way back to the son she lost to the care system years ago when she was framed for a crime she didn’t commit.
But with the camp staff keeping tight-lipped and her new partner on the edge of a breakdown, Madison can’t find any truth to her instinct that there is more to Jenny’s perfect parents than meets the eye. Until she discovers a disturbing family portrait Jenny drew at the local library. Was this angelic girl more troubled than anybody knew? Was she in danger from those she trusted most?
One thing is certain, if Madison doesn't find the answers soon, the lives of more innocent children will be at risk…
An absolutely unputdownable crime thriller that will keep you up all night! Perfect for fans of Angela Marsons, Robert Dugoni and Melinda Leigh. Previously titled Find My Child.

One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

Thank you to Bookouture for my copy of this book via netgalley and for letting me take part in this tour.

Wow! What a book! I am really starting to like these private investigator stories. I loved the backstories for both Maddison and Nate. They were very unique. They also made for a great pairing. I loved their working relationship and I can’t wait to see it grow in the next book. I really liked both characters. Maddison is a great detective and Nate clearly cares about people despite everything he has been through.

The story was a mix of Nate’s backstory and the case of missing girl Jenny Lucas. The case of Jenny is full of so many secrets and lies. Things could have been very different if the truth had been told.

I loved Wendy’s writing style. I was racing through this book. Page after page I struggled too put this book down.

I’m dying to see where book two goes I can’t wait to pick it up very shortly.

About Wendy Dranfield

Wendy is a former coroner’s assistant turned crime writer who lives in the UK with her husband and 3 cats.

As well as her two crime series and the YA crime novel – The Girl Who Died – Wendy has several short stories published in UK and US anthologies. She has also been shortlisted and longlisted for various competitions, including the Mslexia Novel Competition

Emma

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:


2 responses to “Blog Tour Review: Shadow Falls

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.