Blog Tour Review: Her Daughter’s Cry

Posted 24th January 2020 by Emma in Reviews / 0 Comments

Blog Tour Review: Her Daughter's Cry

I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Blog Tour Review: Her Daughter’s CryHer Daughter's Cry by M.M. Chouinard
Also by this author: The Dancing Girls, Taken to the Grave
Series: Detective Jo Fournier #3
Also in this series: The Dancing Girls, Taken to the Grave
Published by Bookouture on 23rd January 2020
Genres: Crime, Suspense, Thriller
Pages: 336
Format: eARC
Source: from Netgalley
Goodreads
Amazon Kindle

Someone wants her dead, and she can’t remember why.
Zoe is a wife and a mother. Or so she’s been told. Ask her for more than that and she couldn’t tell you. The blow to her head wiped her memory clean.
Zoe knows the blood on her shirt isn’t just her own. After she was found stumbling out of the woods, the police ran tests. They say it belongs to her missing daughter.
Zoe is trying to piece together what her daughter’s face looks like, but all she can conjure up is a white-hot panic. A fear that her child is in desperate need of her help.
When a man claiming to be her husband turns up looking for her, she knows she can’t trust him. Until she gets her memories back, she can’t trust anyone. Not the stranger, not the police investigating, not even herself
A completely addictive thriller that will keep you guessing into the early hours of the morning. Perfect for fans of The Silent Patient, Lisa Regan and Gregg Olsen.

One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

Thank you to Bookouture for letting me take part in this tour and for my copy of this book via Netgalley. This is the third book in the Detective Jo Fournier series but each book can be read as a standalone.

In the second book we got to see more of Jo’s background and in this book we got to see a little more of her current life. This, however, was a small part of the story. The main focus here was on Zoe and what happened to her.

We got to see varying POV in this book which is something I always love. I think it gives a more rounded story. I really enjoyed this one. The memory loss gave an added aspect to the story which helped to keep us all guessing.

The story was addictive and extremely hard to put down. Especially for the last few sections. I was tearing through those pages like there was no tomorrow. There was a very intricate web going on and the author did an excellent job of weaving it.

I can’t wait for another book on Jo Fournier.

About M.M. Chouinard

M.M. Chouinard’s first fiction story was published in her local paper when she was eight, and she fell in love with Agatha Christie novels not long after. While pursuing a Ph.D in psychology and helping to found the first U.S. research university of the new millenium, the stories kept rattling around inside her skull, demanding to come out. For sanity’s sake, she released them. She’s currently at work on her seventh novel.

Emma

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.