Blog Tour Review: Stone Broke Heiress

Posted 25th March 2022 by Emma in Reviews / 1 Comment

Blog Tour Review: Stone Broke Heiress

I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Blog Tour Review: Stone Broke HeiressStone Broke Heiress by Danielle Owen-Jones
Published by Bookouture on 21st March 2022
Genres: Chicklit, Contemporary, Humour, Love & Romance
Pages: 308
Format: eARC
Source: from Netgalley
Goodreads
Amazon Kindle

Six months ago, I was the heiress to a soup empire worth millions. Now, I’m standing in a giant dumpster.
Bella Whittington’s caviar-and-Cristal life comes crashing down when she walks in on her fiancé and best friend tangled up in page 34 of the Kama Sutra, limbs everywhere. But her plan to dull the pain with Daddy’s credit card is totalled by the news that they’ve lost the family business. Suddenly Bella’s both single and completely broke.
Shivering in her dingy new studio apartment after a traumatic incident with a homemade turmeric face mask (Hello Tangerina Jolie!), Bella realises she must pull up her Gucci socks and get a job, fast. But Dan, the gorgeous grumpy owner of the local soup kitchen, hates the Whittingtons, so a teensy lie about her surname gets Bella through the door, and set loose on the stove… Minestrone with a side of melted spatula, anyone?
When Bella’s ex returns with a golden ticket back to her glitzy old life, should she accept? Because that would mean no more box wine and frozen pizza nights with Dan. No more singalongs to the crackly kitchen radio. No more my-heart-is-as-melted-as-that-spatula moments when he finally cracks a reluctant smile… But if Dan finds out the truth about who she really is, will she even have the choice?
An absolutely hilarious, feel-good rom com that will have you snorting with laughter. The new must-read for fans of Sophie Kinsella, Lindsey Kelk and Schitt’s Creek!

One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

Thank you to Bookouture for my copy of this book via Netgalley and for letting me take part in this tour. This is Danielle’s debut book and what a book it was! This book was light hearted, funny but with some real morals behind it.

Bella should have been one of those characters you don’t like. She’s grown up without any money worries and has lived a lavish life not even thinking about dropping what a normal person would spend on a monthly basis for just one meal. But Bella is so easy to love. When she is bumped back down to earth she takes in her stride and learns to appreciate the little things in life. It was really lovely to watch her journey.

Dan sounds absolutely dreamy. I am a bit of a Rege-Jean fan myself so I can see I would have easily fallen for Dan especially when you add in Herbie! I’m a sucker for a cute dog!

This story has some wonderful side characters too. I loved Elsie and Suzie. They really made me chuckle.

It was a pleasure to read Danielle’s debut novel and I cannot wait for more from this talented author!

About Danielle Owen-Jones

Danielle Owen-Jones grew up in Merseyside. She started her career as a senior journalist and features writer before launching her own freelance PR and content writing business. Danielle now calls Cumbria home, where she lives with her husband, Tom, and adorable cockapoo, Poppy.

Danielle is represented by Clare Coombes of The Liverpool Literary Agency and published by Bookouture (Hachette UK). To find out more about Danielle, visit her website or follow her on social media

Emma

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:


One response to “Blog Tour Review: Stone Broke Heiress

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.