Blog Tour Review: How Much Wine Will Fix My Broken Heart?

Posted 1st July 2021 by Emma in Blog Tours, Reviews / 2 Comments

Blog Tour Review: How Much Wine Will Fix My Broken Heart?

I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Blog Tour Review: How Much Wine Will Fix My Broken Heart?How Much Wine Will Fix My Broken Heart? by Kristen Bailey
Also by this author: Has Anyone Seen My Sex Life?, Can I Give My Husband Back?, Did My Love Life Shrink in the Wash?
Series: The Callaghan Sisters #4
Also in this series: Has Anyone Seen My Sex Life?, Can I Give My Husband Back?, Did My Love Life Shrink in the Wash?
Published by Bookouture on 30th June 2021
Genres: Contemporary, Humour, Women's Literary Fiction
Pages: 288
Format: eARC
Source: from Netgalley
Goodreads
Amazon Kindle

Are you suffering from a broken heart? Searching for the right medicine? Staring down the barrel of being single and not knowing where to start? Learn from Grace Callaghan! She’s done it all:Wine is the answer. Some serving-size suggestions include: a glass the size of your head, a bathtub, an Olympic-sized swimming pool. Best served chilled, and with a straw.Friends with benefits is always an option. Be prepared for side effects such as the guy saying ‘baby’, crying out his ex’s name and preferring to keep his socks on.Going ‘out out’ helps banish the blues. It may involve breaking into replica ships from the fifteenth century, screaming ‘Aye-aye, Captain!’ and accidentally falling off the plank.Karaoke makes everything better. Best enjoyed singing Enrique Iglesias, followed by an extra-large serving of fries.Three years ago, when Grace’s heart was blown to smithereens, she made a promise to protect herself. But has she gone too far? Has she played it too safe? Should she take a leap into the unknown, messy business of the heart? Because maybe, just maybe, she could learn to love again…
This hilarious and totally gripping tale is for anyone who’s questioned their qualifications at life, and learned that a little bit of wine goes a long way! Fans of Shari Low, Sophie Kinsella and Why Mummy Drinks, be warned: prepare for odd looks when reading this in public due to the ugly laughing it induces.

One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

Thank you to bookouture for my copy of this book via netgalley and for letting me take part in this tour. I absolutely love Kristens writing and The Callaghan sisters so this book was a must read for me! This is the 4th book in the series but I feel like you could read them in any order and still enjoy the books just as much. 

This story follows Grace and picks up a few years after the previous books in the series. Grace’s husband Tom died from testicular cancer 3 years ago. This book shows us how there is no right way to grieve. 

Don’t go thinking this book is all maudlin and depressing though. While there were some sad parts there were also some absolutely hilarious parts. I was probably crying for 70% of this book but they weren’t all sad tears. This book has lots of laugh out loud moments. 

In this book we meet so many people whose lives were touched by Tom. He was a special man. He was one of those people that you could only meet once but you wouldn’t forget. He had such a zest for life and it was amazing to see how he touched so many people. 

I really liked the letters at the beginning of each chapter. It was so lovely to read Grace and Tom’s story through their own words, even when they were at odds you could feel the love coming through. 

I absolutely devoured this book. I read 60% of it in one sitting. I just couldn’t tear myself away from Grace, her girls and her sisters. I also loved Linh. She is a real inspiration to us all. 

This was an excellent read that I would recommend to anyone who needs a good laugh. I read this after a crappy day and it just lifted my spirits so much. I cannot wait for Lucy’s book. I just know she is going to be so much fun!

About Kristen Bailey

Mother-of-four, gin-drinker, binge-watcher, receipt hoarder, enthusiastic but terrible cook. Kristen also writes. She has had short fiction published in several publications including Mslexia & Riptide. Her first two novels, Souper Mum and Second Helpings were published in 2016. In 2019, she was long listed in the Comedy Women in Print Prize and has since joined the Bookouture family. She hopes her novels have fresh and funny things to say about modern life, love and family.

Emma

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:


2 responses to “Blog Tour Review: How Much Wine Will Fix My Broken Heart?

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.