Blog Tour Review: Am I Allergic to Men?

Posted 9th February 2022 by Emma in Reviews / 1 Comment

Blog Tour Review: Am I Allergic to Men?

I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Blog Tour Review: Am I Allergic to Men?Am I Allergic to Men? by Kristen Bailey
Narrator: Sarah Durham
Also by this author: Has Anyone Seen My Sex Life?, Can I Give My Husband Back?, Did My Love Life Shrink in the Wash?, How Much Wine Will Fix My Broken Heart?
Series: The Callaghan Sisters #5
Also in this series: Has Anyone Seen My Sex Life?, Can I Give My Husband Back?, Did My Love Life Shrink in the Wash?, How Much Wine Will Fix My Broken Heart?
Published by Bookouture on 3rd February 2022
Genres: Contemporary, Humour
Pages: 275
Format: Audiobook
Source: from Netgalley
Goodreads
Amazon KindleAudible

You think you’ve got it bad? I lost my memory, I’m so single I’ve basically got an allergy to men, and my own cat despises me.
‘Lucy! If you can hear me, squeeze my hand!’
That’s the first thing I hear when I wake up in hospital. Then my sister drops a bombshell: I’ve been in a coma.
It gets worse. In my head, it’s 2009 and I’m seventeen. Somehow, I need to remember the last decade…
Plan A: Track down my exes. Highlights include a one-night stand with someone in a Batman costume, and balcony sex that gave the neighbours a nervous breakdown.
Plan B: Get flirty. Lowlights include a fling with someone hairier than a yeti.
Plan C: Figure out why I have more exes than underwear. Am I allergic to men?
As I piece together my past, I find a mysterious note: Oscar, 9th February. Determined to work out what it means, I uncover a secret I’ve been hiding from everyone.
When the truth comes out, will my memory return? Will I get my life back? And will I ever find the cure to my singledom?
You’ll laugh so much your abs ache! The perfect page-turner for fans of Sophie Kinsella, Lindsey Kelk and TV shows like Schitt’s Creek.

One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

I don’t know where to start this review, I am so sad that the series is over but hell what a book to end on!

I think Lucy is the person we all wish we could be. She is direct, has strong self-belief and will stick to her morals. Lucy isn’t afraid to call someone out if she doesn’t like their behaviour. I wish I was as brave as Lucy because sometimes people need calling on their sh*t. It was very interesting finding out about Lucy’s missing decade and what she got up to.

This book was full of some of the best laugh out loud moments. I listened to the audiobook for this and regularly found myself chuckling away as I listened not caring who could hear me. There were also quite a few tearful moments. Kristen really brought out all the emotions for me in this book.

I absolutely loved having all the sisters together and I can only imagine what it must have been like in that house while they were all growing up. I come from a big family and I know it was chaos for us.

My one tiny criticism is the name of the book. I don’t think it quite fits with the story. Lucy isn’t allergic to men and the story isn’t about her finding love so I feel like it gives off the wrong vibe to prospective readers.

I really enjoyed the narration too. Sarah did a really good job with building the emotions. She also made it really easy to follow who was talking when. I found her voice to be very engaging.

I am devastated that this series is over but I do look forward to seeing what Kristen is going to bring next as I’m sure it will be filled with her trademark humour and characters you can’t help but love.

About Kristen Bailey

Mother-of-four, gin-drinker, binge-watcher, receipt hoarder, enthusiastic but terrible cook. Kristen also writes. She has had short fiction published in several publications including Mslexia & Riptide. Her first two novels, Souper Mum and Second Helpings were published in 2016. In 2019, she was long listed in the Comedy Women in Print Prize and has since joined the Bookouture family. She hopes her novels have fresh and funny things to say about modern life, love and family.

Emma

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:


One response to “Blog Tour Review: Am I Allergic to Men?

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.