Blog Tour Review: Before She Wakes

Posted 29th January 2021 by Emma in Reviews / 0 Comments

Blog Tour Review: Before She Wakes

I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

This post contains affiliate links you can use to purchase the book. If you buy the book using that link, I will receive a small commission from the sale.

Blog Tour Review: Before She WakesBefore She Wakes by Ed James
Also by this author: Gone in Seconds
Series: Detective Max Carter #3
Also in this series: Gone in Seconds
Published by Bookouture on 29th January 2021
Genres: Crime, Suspense, Thriller
Pages: 294
Format: eARC
Source: from Netgalley
Amazon Kindle

She opens her eyes and focuses on the room around her. Everything is in place, yet something isn’t right. She walks towards her daughter’s room, calling her name, as she does every morning. But this morning is different. This morning there is no response, Marissa’s daughter has vanished.
Single mother Marissa Bukowski stands in her daughter’s untidy room. Olivia’s phone is still charging at the wall and her clothes are still hanging in her closet. The mirror above her daughter’s desk is cracked and a message written in red ink reads ‘Never Forget’.
As FBI special agent Max Carter is called in to investigate, he delves into the lives of Marissa and her quiet, studious teenage daughter, and soon discovers that Olivia has been lying to her mother. Not only did she have a secret boyfriend, but she had also been talking to her guidance counsellor in the weeks before she disappeared. What was so big that Olivia couldn’t tell?
When a blood test reveals that Marissa was drugged the night Olivia went missing, Carter turns his sights towards Marissa’s estranged husband, only to find that he too has vanished without trace. And when he uncovers a family secret that could put the teenager’s life in danger, it’s clear that time is running out for Marissa’s beloved daughter. Can he discover the truth about Olivia’s family and find her before it’s too late?
Fans of Melinda Leigh, Kendra Elliott and Lisa Regan will love this pulse-racing crime thriller from bestselling author Ed James. Before She Wakes will keep you up all night!

One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

Thank you to Bookouture for letting me take part in this tour and for my copy of this book via netgalley. I loved the second book in this series so I was very excited to see what happened next to Max carter. Even though this is the third book in the series you can read it as a standalone.

This book had me on the edge of my seat. I’m not a parent but I can only imagine the fear and the pain of waking up to find out your child is missing. This book did an excellent job of portraying the fear and the need for immediate action. Max and his team are running around Seattle all day following leads and it felt like they barely took a second to breathe let alone anything else. When a child is missing it really is a high priority clock ticking case. This was excellently portrayed throughout the book.

As well as looking for Olivia we also had the background case of Max’s Dad and what happened to Max as a child. I thought this was really interesting and was torn between the two stories. I wanted to read both of them at once!

The case had a lot of suspects but not a lot of evidence. I had no idea that it would all play out as it did. Ed was very clever in unravelling everything.

This book was an addictive crime thriller and I can’t wait to see what Ed brings us next.

About Ed James

Ed James is the author of multiple series of crime novels.

The bestselling DI Simon Fenchurch series is set in East London and published by Thomas & Mercer.

The self-published Scott Cullen series of Scottish police procedurals features a young Edinburgh Detective Constable investigating crimes from the bottom rung of the career ladder he’s desperate to climb. The first book, “Ghost in the Machine”, has been downloaded over 400,000 times, hitting both the Amazon UK & US top five.

The Craig Hunter books is a sister series to the Cullen novels, with a PTSD-suffering ex-squaddie now working as a cop investigating sexual abuse cases. With lots of slapstick and banter.

Ed lives in East Lothian, Scotland and writes full-time, but used to work in IT project management, where he filled his weekly commute to London by literally writing on planes, trains and automobiles.


Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.