Blog Tour Review: The Winter Garden

Posted 9th October 2020 by Emma in Reviews / 2 Comments

Blog Tour Review: The Winter Garden

I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

This post contains affiliate links you can use to purchase the book. If you buy the book using that link, I will receive a small commission from the sale.

Blog Tour Review: The Winter GardenThe Winter Garden by Heidi Swain
Also by this author: Sleigh Rides and Silver Bells at the Christmas Fair, Mince Pies and Mistletoe at the Christmas Market, Sunshine and Sweet Peas in Nightingale Square, Snowflakes and Cinnamon Swirls at the Winter Wonderland
Published by Simon & Schuster UK on 1st October 2020
Genres: Chicklit, Christmas, Contemporary, Humour, Love & Romance
Pages: 400
Format: eARC
Source: from Netgalley
Goodreads
Amazon KindleBookshopBookhype

***The sparkling new Christmas novel from the Sunday Times bestselling author Heidi Swain!***
Freya Fuller is estranged from her parents and has been following her childhood dream of becoming a gardener ever since. When an opportunity to design a winter garden opens up at a Victorian property in Nightingale Square, Freya jumps at the chance to make a fresh start. But while the majority of the residents are welcoming, local artist Finn seems determined to shut her out, and when Freya's family make a surprise appearance, it seems that her new life is about to come crashing down . . .

The Winter Garden 
is the perfect read this Christmas, promising snowfall, warm fires and breath-taking seasonal romance. Perfect for fans of Carole Matthews, Cathy Bramley and Sarah Morgan.   Praise for HEIDI SWAIN:'The queen of feel-good' Woman & Home
'Full of Heidi’s trademark gentle charm. Lock the door, pour some mulled wine and settle into this wonderful Christmas treat!' Milly Johnson 'More Christmassy than a week in Lapland - we loved it!' 
heat 

'Sprinkled with Christmas sparkle' Trisha Ashley
'Give yourself a Christmas treat and curl up with this magical book!' Sue Moorcroft, author of 
The Little Village Christmas

'A real Christmas cracker of a read!' Penny Parkes, author of Practice Makes Perfect
'Cosy, Christmassy and deeply satisfying! Another wonderful read!' Mandy Baggot, author of 
One Christmas Kiss in Notting Hill

One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

This book gave me ALL the feels!!!!!!!

Thank you to Books and The City and Simon and Schuster for letting me take part in this tour and for my copy of this book via Netgalley. I am a HUGE fan of Heidi’s writing, especially her Christmas books.

In this book, we return to Nightingale Square and Prosperous Place. This is the third book set here but all can be read as standalones. This is the first time we’ve been here for Christmas and it has everything we have come to expect from a Heidi Christmas book. Winterfest is definitely something I could get on board with. I loved the sound of the sessions and I wish there was something like that I could go to. I also always love going to Christmas Markets and for obvious reasons, there won’t be any this year. This really saddens me so I really enjoyed visiting them through this story.

Freya has been through so much recently. She has really had her confidence knocked and is a little reserved to begin with but as the book progresses, she really starts to believe in herself. I just loved watching her become so settled and at home. I was so happy for her.

Finn is a real hunk of a man. He’s likened to Thor. He sounds very dreamy and if I’m honest probably too much man for me. He’s the sort of man I could appreciate and I can see why Freya falls for him but never the sort of man I would be with. His brother Zak, on the other hand, seems much more me and I really hope we get a book on Zak.

Little Nell. She is so sweet and it was so lovely to watch her blossom. That gorgeous little dog just needed a little love and a happy environment which she gets in abundance in her new home.  

The Garden is magnificent. I am not green-fingered. Like not in the slightest but that didn’t stop me enjoying it. I would absolutely love to visit the Winter Garden. It sounds like such a magical place.

Heidi touches on the subjects of mental health and seasonal affective disorder. This book teaches us that just because its cold and dark there are still things to look forward to. I think it’s a real message of hope that we need right now.

About Heidi Swain

Although passionate about writing from an early age, Heidi Swain gained a degree in Literature, flirted briefly with a newspaper career, married and had two children before she finally plucked up the courage to join a creative writing class and take her literary ambitions seriously.

A lover of Galaxy bars, vintage paraphernalia and the odd bottle of fizz, she now writes contemporary fiction and enjoys the company of a whole host of feisty female characters.

Heidi can be found at the keyboard at all hours of the day and night and quite often scribbling longhand in her car during her lunch break. She lives in stunning south Norfolk with her wonderful son and daughter and a mischievous cat called Storm.

Emma

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:


2 responses to “Blog Tour Review: The Winter Garden

Leave a Reply to Heidi Swain 🍂📚🍂 Cancel reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.