Blog Tour Review: Stolen Daughters

Posted 11th April 2021 by Emma in Blog Tours, Reviews / 2 Comments

Blog Tour Review: Stolen Daughters

I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

This post contains affiliate links you can use to purchase the book. If you buy the book using that link, I will receive a small commission from the sale.

Blog Tour Review: Stolen DaughtersStolen Daughters by Carolyn Arnold
Also by this author: The Little Grave
Series: Detective Amanda Steele #2
Also in this series: The Little Grave
Published by Bookouture on 6th April 2021
Genres: Crime, Suspense, Thriller
Pages: 362
Format: eARC
Source: from Netgalley
Goodreads
Amazon Kindle

The girl looked so peaceful, she could have been asleep. Except her eyes were open, blankly reflecting the flickering flames spreading towards her…
When firefighters discover the body of a teenage girl at an abandoned house, Detective Amanda Steele hurries to the scene. Dumfries, Virginia is a small town, yet no one seems to have any idea who the dead girl is until Amanda finds a dragonfly pin with the name Crystal engraved on it.
Working tirelessly, Amanda traces the pin to Crystal Foster, a thirteen-year-old who disappeared three years ago from her wealthy parents’ home. Breaking the news to the distraught parents won’t be easy, but the loss of her own daughter still haunts Amanda, and she knows this will bring them closure. But when Amanda goes to see the Fosters, they do not recognize the girl. She isn’t Crystal.
Before Amanda can react to this new development, she gets an urgent call. A fire has consumed another vacant house, and the remains of two more girls have been found. Who are these girls, and why are they being picked off? Amanda must stop this killer before the pattern continues, and the death toll climbs.
When Amanda receives a taunting note from the killer, she realizes that she holds the missing piece of this puzzle. The victims are connected to Amanda’s past, to a case she can never forget, and which almost claimed her life. As she follows the clues to their deadly conclusion, can she save more innocent lives… even if it risks her own?
An unputdownable, pulse-pounding mystery. Fans of Rachel Caine, Lisa Regan and Robert Dugoni will be gripped.

One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

Thank you to bookouture for letting me take part in this tour and for my copy of this book via Netgalley. This is the second book in this series but it could be read as a standalone.

Amanda Steele is an excellent detective. She is determined and thinks about others before herself. She is always trying to do the right thing. In this story, she puts herself in danger to protect innocents. Amanda is passionate, she loves her job but she will do anything to get the results. Amanda has a hell of a past and quite frankly a hell of a present but she doesn’t let that hold her back. I really like Amanda. I like that she is spunky and not afraid of getting in trouble, which she does, a lot!

I really like Amanda’s partner Trent. He knows when to push her and when not to. given the short time, they have worked together they know each other pretty well and make a good team.

Carolyn does an excellent job of building suspense, putting you right on the edge of your seat. I really liked the change in POV for some chapters. It really brings a more rounded view to the story. It really allowed us as the audience to learn more about the killer, his motives, his feelings.

I’m intrigued as to where the story is going to go next. I really can’t wait to see more of Amanda

About Carolyn Arnold

CAROLYN ARNOLD is an international bestselling and award-winning author, as well as a speaker, teacher, and inspirational mentor. She has several continuing fiction series and has nearly thirty published books. Her genre diversity offers her readers everything from cozy to hard-boiled mysteries, and thrillers to action adventures. Her crime fiction series have been praised by those in law enforcement as being accurate and entertaining. This led to her adopting the trademark: POLICE PROCEDURALS RESPECTED BY LAW ENFORCEMENT™.

Carolyn was born in a small town and enjoys spending time outdoors, but she also loves the lights of a big city. Grounded by her roots and lifted by her dreams, her overactive imagination insists that she tell her stories. Her intention is to touch the hearts of millions with her books, to entertain, inspire, and empower.

She currently lives near London, Ontario, Canada with her husband and two beagles.

Emma

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:


2 responses to “Blog Tour Review: Stolen Daughters

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.