Blog Tour Review: Summer in the Scottish Highlands

Posted 4th June 2021 by Emma in Blog Tours, Reviews / 2 Comments

Blog Tour Review: Summer in the Scottish Highlands

I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

This post contains affiliate links you can use to purchase the book. If you buy the book using that link, I will receive a small commission from the sale.

Blog Tour Review: Summer in the Scottish HighlandsSummer in the Scottish Highlands by Donna Ashcroft
Also by this author: The Little Christmas Teashop of Second Chances, If Every Day Was Christmas
Published by Bookouture on 4th June 2021
Genres: Chicklit, Contemporary, Humour, Love & Romance
Pages: 243
Format: eARC
Source: from Netgalley
Goodreads
Amazon Kindle

Escape to the gorgeous little village of Lockton in the Scottish Highlands, where you’ll discover sunshine, secrets and an unforgettable romance. It’s the perfect place to be this summer…
Thirty-year-old Paige Dougall’s life is a mess. Only a year ago she was smashing all of her life goals: handsome husband, high-flying job, cute kid. But in just under twelve months everything has gone wrong. Nursing a broken heart, single mother Paige returns to her childhood home in a picture-perfect Scottish village to try and get her life together.
Paige is too wrapped up in her worries to embrace the beautiful rolling hills and lavender-scented air of the highlands. That is until Johnny Becker, the infuriatingly cheerful chef, with his twinkling eyes and dimpled smile, steps onto the scene and provides Paige with some much-needed distraction…
Johnny challenges Paige to step outside her comfort zone and focus on the things that really matter. From food tasting, to puppy training, to mountain climbing, in every moment she spends with Johnny, Paige finds herself remembering how to live again… will she be able to love again too?
Across long sunshine-filled days, Paige and Johnny grow closer and she’s tempted to open her heart to him. But is happy-go-lucky Johnny hiding secrets of his own?
And can Paige learn to let go of her past and find happiness in the highlands?
A gorgeous, moving summer romance novel about finding joy in the small things and discovering what really matters in life. Perfect for fans of Nicola May, Sarah Morgan and Cathy Bramley.
** PREVIOUSLY TITLED: Summer at Kindness Cottage

One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

Thank you to Bookouture for my copy of this book via Netgalley and for letting me take part in this tour. I read If Every Day Was Christmas at the end of 2020 and I really enjoyed it so I was excited to return to Lockton in the Summertime.

Paige and Johnny are a pair of characters that you just instantly root for. They both need a bit of love and happiness in their lives. I really liked them both. I would absolutely love Jonny to cook for me. I had quite the rumbling stomach while reading this book.

I adored Mack the little mischievous pup! He made me laugh with all the antics he got up to.

I really liked having the stories of the other villagers going on in the background. I think it really helps to me the village more realistic. The location is so well described that I could see myself there going for walks and look at the countryside. I am dying to go to Scotland again. I also loved the library!

This was a lovely easy summer read. Go grab an ice cream, a cold drink and settle down with this book. It will be an afternoon you won’t regret!

About Donna Ashcroft

Donna Ashcroft was born in London and grew up in Buckinghamshire. She went to university in Lancashire and, among other things, worked as a copywriter, buyer, waitress, secretary and marketing manager.

Donna wrote novels for over ten years before being published. She is a member of the Romantic Novelists Association and was a joint winner of the Katie Fforde Bursary in 2017.
Donna loves a happy ending and is never happier than when she’s escaping into a romance novel or movie. When she’s not reading or writing she’ll probably be found hoovering … or negotiating with her teenagers about who is doing the washing up.

Emma

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:


2 responses to “Blog Tour Review: Summer in the Scottish Highlands

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.