Blog Tour Review: The Missing Piece

Posted 28th October 2020 by Emma in Blog Tours, Reviews / 1 Comment

Blog Tour Review: The Missing Piece

I received this book for free in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

This post contains affiliate links you can use to purchase the book. If you buy the book using that link, I will receive a small commission from the sale.

Blog Tour Review: The Missing PieceThe Missing Piece by Catherine Miller
Published by Bookouture on 28th October 2020
Genres: Contemporary, Love & Romance
Pages: 266
Format: eARC
Goodreads
Amazon KindleBookshopBookhype

Broken Heart Syndrome: A sudden and acute form of heart failure, brought on by emotional or physical distress.
After years of studying cardiac medicine, thirty-one-year-old Keisha knows the heart inside out. She knows the average heartrate for each age group, she can name every valve, and she can tell you exactly how much blood it pumps daily.
The one thing she doesn’t know is how to fall in love. And nor does she want to. The secret her tattoo covers is a reminder that the best way to protect a heart is to never let it feel in the first place…
Seventy-nine-year-old Clive is Subject Five in Keisha’s latest research project. He’s been in love since he was seventeen, ever since he met Nancy at a tea dance. But last night, his beloved wife was killed. Suddenly, he has no one to waltz with. He has woken up in hospital, a widower diagnosed with Broken Heart Syndrome.
These strangers, brought together by a broken heart, must face up to the truth of their pasts. Can Clive teach his new friend that until you’ve loved, you haven’t lived? And can Keisha help him see that it’s never too late for a second chance?
For anyone who has ever felt the pang of heartbreak and feared you might never heal again, this beautiful tale teaches us how to dust ourselves off and seek happiness again. Fans of Jojo Moyes, Josie Silver and Rosie Walsh will love this moving and uplifting story.

One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

Thank you to Bookouture for letting me take part in this tour and for my copy of this book via Netgalley. This is the first book I have read by Catherine. I really liked the cover and the blurb so jumped at the chance to be involved in the tour.

The book follows Keisha and Clive as they strike up an unlikely friendship. The story flicks between Keisha and Clive.

Keisha has a lot of anxiety which is brought on by her past. She is such a sweetheart and has truly been through the mill. She likes regularity and doesn’t like new places or people. I really wanted to help Keisha. I wanted to find a way to easy er anxiety and help her live rather than exist.

Clive’s story was so heartbreaking. I just felt so sorry for him. It was also inspiring. Clive seems like he would make such a fantastic grandad. I’m glad that he makes friends with Keisha and her friends. He really does become like a surrogate grandfather to them. It’s so sweet to see.

There was also a great side cast which involved Lucy, Tess and George. I loved all of these characters and would love to see another book about Tess.

This book was written in 4 parts just like the 4 chambers of the heart. I loved the little notes at the beginning of each part. The pace of the book was spot on. The beginning was slower letting us get to know the characters and then it really gripped me or the last half. I was unable to put it down. I really needed to see if this story had a happy ending.

This story will bring tears to your eyes but also a touch warmth in your heart.

About Catherine Miller

When Catherine Miller became a mum to twins, she decided her hands weren’t full enough so wrote a novel with every spare moment she managed to find. By the time the twins were two, Catherine had a two-book deal with Carina UK. Her debut novel, Waiting For You, came out in March 2016.

Catherine was a NHS physiotherapist, but for health reasons she retired early from this career. As she loved her physiotherapy job, she decided if she couldn’t do that she would pursue her writing dream. It took a few years and a couple of babies, but in 2015 she won the Katie Fforde bursary, was a finalist in the London Book Fair Write Stuff Competition and highly commended in Woman magazine’s writing competition. Since then she’s had four novels published.

Emma

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:


One response to “Blog Tour Review: The Missing Piece

Leave a Reply to bookouture Cancel reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.