Review: Secrets of the Starcrossed

Posted 20th February 2021 by Emma in Reviews / 0 Comments

I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

This post contains affiliate links you can use to purchase the book. If you buy the book using that link, I will receive a small commission from the sale.

Review: Secrets of the StarcrossedSecrets of the Starcrossed by Clara O'Connor
Narrator: Jan Cramer
Series: The Once and Future Queen #1
Published by One More Chapter on 21st January 2021
Genres: Dystopia, Fantasy, Retellings, YA Fantasy, Young Adult
Length: 13 hours and 17 minutes
Format: Audiobook
Source: from Netgalley
Reading Challenges: 2021 Audiobook Challenge, 2021 Goodreads Challenge, 2021 Netgalley Challenge
Goodreads
Amazon Kindle

In a world where the Roman Empire never fell, two starcrossed lovers fight to ignite the spark of rebellion…
Londinium, the last stronghold of the Romans left in Britannia, remains in a delicate state of peace with the ancient kingdoms that surround it. As the only daughter of a powerful merchant, Cassandra is betrothed to Marcus, the most eligible bachelor in the city.
But then she meets Devyn, the boy with the strange midnight eyes searching for a girl with magic in her blood.
A boy who will make her believe in soulmates…
When a mysterious sickness starts to leech the life from citizens with Celtic power lying dormant in their veins, the imperial council sets their schemes in motion. And so Cassandra must make a choice: the Code or Chaos, science or sorcery, Marcus or Devyn?
Panem meets the Grishaverse in this explosive new YA trilogy perfect for readers of Marie Lu, Bella Forrest, and Cassandra Clare.

One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

Thank you to One More Chapter for my copy of this book via Netgalley. This is only the second audiobook I have listened to on Netgalley shelf. The app has come a long way since the first one I tried and I will definitely be requesting more.

Our main character is Cassandra. She’s not the most likeable of characters if I’m honest. She’s a bit winy and has only really just noticed the world she lives in is not the same as those of the poor. Then there’s Marcus, her intended and Devyn, the bad boy.

The dating seems to be in the dark ages with chaperons and scandals when two characters merely kiss but then you have the code and the technology of the future.

This book is set in a world like ours but it’s not quite right. The places and the names are the same or similar but it is very much not the London we know and love. This sort of thing. I love working out the differences between our world and theirs. Working out things like the code and who is controlling everyone. And of course why, This book is big on intrigue and secrets. There’s a much bigger plan than just what we see on the surface.

The non-world building parts were really easy to read. I was very interested in this sickness. Why were these people getting sick? Could anyone help them? Would anyone help them or did they simply not care?

I liked the world but some of the world-building was a bit clunky. It wasn’t easy to follow for someone like me who isn’t a history buff. I hope we get to see more of the Britons as the series progresses as I think there will be some interesting characters there. I am excited to see more of their powers and what the hell is going to happen next!

About Clara O’Connor

Soon to be Young Adult Author… Romance, Magic, Ancient Powers, Modern Minds, Arthur, Tudor, Celts…put in a pot and stir…

Emma

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.