Blog Tour Review: The Beachside Sweet Shop

Posted 7 March 2017 by Emma Poulloura in Blog Tours, Reviews / 0 Comments

Blog Tour Review: The Beachside Sweet Shop

I received this book for free For A Blog Tour in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Blog Tour Review: The Beachside Sweet ShopThe Beachside Sweet Shop by Karen Clarke
Series: Beachside Bay #1
Published by Bookouture on 2nd March 2017
Genres: Chicklit, Humour, Love & Romance
Pages: 301
Source: For A Blog Tour
Goodreads
Amazon UKAmazon US

Chocolate fudge, butterscotch and raspberry bonbons… treat yourself to some sugary treats, a big slice of friendship and a sprinkling of romance at The Beachside Sweet Shop.

When Marnie Appleton inherited a sweet shop from her grandfather she was determined to do his legacy proud. The shop has been a much-loved feature of the little seaside town of Shipley for years, but now Marnie needs to bring it up to date, and she’s recruited gorgeous new assistant Josh to help.

Marnie gets busy redecorating the shop and choosing delicious new sweets to stock, but things are never that simple: new neighbour Isobel, a fame-hungry blogger, is on a crusade against sugar, and she’ll go to any lengths to secure bad publicity for Marnie’s shop.

Marnie fights back with homemade sugar-free treats, but with her best friend Beth heavily pregnant, her grandmother Celia recovering from an operation, and her very recently ex-boyfriend Alex returning to Shipley with a new love, Marnie has a lot on her plate.

And then there’s Josh, with whom Marnie is struggling to keep her relationship strictly professional…Will both the sweet shop and love flourish?

A deliciously heartwarming read about family, friends and handmade coconut ice. Perfect for fans of Cressida McLaughlin, Debbie Johnson, and Tilly Tennant.

Thank you to  Bookouture for accepting my request to review this book via Netgalley. I have a bit of a sweet tooth so when I saw there was a book all about sweets I knew I had to read it. Warning before you read this you might want to get a bag of your favourite sweets.

Marnie took over the Beachside Sweet shop from her Gramps. She’d enjoyed working there as a child/teenager and thought it was a good way to save some money so she could go travelling. She also couldn’t bear to see the shop sold and the rest of the family didn’t want to run it. I really liked Marnie. She is instantly likeable and you can’t help but root for her immediately. She’s a genuinely nice person and you want everything to go right for her

There are also a whole host of great side characters in this book. With pregnant BFF Beth, who is hilarious. Ceila, Paddy, Harry, Aggie and Josh. All these characters had their place in both the story and Marnie’s life. I have to confess that I have a little soft spot for Josh.

The book was easy to read and the ending gave you the warm fuzzies. It was well written and had a good pace. I think this story was about more than romance, it was about family. There are also some classic laugh out loud moments that I really enjoyed.

I look forward to see more from Karen in the near future.

One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

About Karen Clarke

After giving up her job as a library assistant, Karen now writes full-time. She’s had over 300 stories published in women’s magazines in the UK and abroad, and has written three paranormal romantic comedies, published by Little, Brown/Corsair. When she’s not writing she reads avidly, walks dogs at her local rescue centre, and is eagerly awaiting the next season of The Walking Dead. She lives in Buckinghamshire with her husband and three grown-up children.

Emma Poulloura

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

  • 2017 Goodreads Challenge
  • 2017 Netgalley

Leave a Reply