Blog Tour: Mortiswood Tales Weekend Blitz

Posted 18th September 2016 by Emma in Blog Tours, Book News, Q&A / 1 Comment

Blog Tour: Mortiswood Tales Weekend Blitz

Tell us a little about you…

I’m Gina Dickerson, author of the Mortiswood Tales series and dark fairy tales ‘The Pennington Christmas Curse’ and ‘Always Golden’. I live in Thanet, in Kent, with my family and Siberian husky. I collect shoes…I don’t know how many pairs I have hoarded now as I’ve lost count! I also collect books and would love to be able have a room in my house as a library, maybe one day!

Tell us about your new book…

I’m busy working on the third Mortiswood Tales book entitled ‘The Darkening’ which is due for release in Autumn. It follows on from book two and there is more action, adventure, new characters, and revelations…oh, and a little romance, too! It has influences of Norse myth, and is, like the other books in the series, a dark tale.

What is your favourite place to write?

If I’m revising drafts I prefer to do it by hand so I print everything out and, if it is warm enough, work on it in the garden. When I am working on putting the story down I like to work at my desk which overlooks the garden.

Where do you get your character inspiration from?

When I start writing a story I’ll begin with a small idea, sometimes just an opening line, and type. It feels as if the characters then grow from that beginning, as if they are controlling and inspiring me themselves – which is crazy of course as they are inside my head not the other way around!

What are your three desert island books?

‘Bless The Child’ by Cathy Cash Spellman

‘Time Without End’ by Linda Lael Miller

‘The Eternal’ by Mark Chadbourn

What is your favourite place to read?

During the day I love reading outside and can easily spend hours in my sun lounger in the garden, with my dog snoozing in the shade with me.

What is your favourite book and why?

I can only choose one…hmm, this is difficult! I would say ‘Jane Eyre’ by Charlotte Bronte. I read it every year since having first read when I was about fourteen.

What do you like to do when you’re not writing?

I enjoy cover design work as well as reading but also putting my feet up and watching a good film!

Chocolate or sweets?

I go through phases of liking one more than the other but my preference at the moment is chocolate. Gooey, caramel chocolate is currently my favourite.

Is there a book you wished you wrote?

I’ve read so many wonderful books that it would be hard to pick just one!

You have a free flight and accommodation to anywhere in the world where would you go?

Italy. I’d love to return to Rome where I spent my honeymoon and I’d also like to visit Verona…Romeo and Juliet, what more can I say?!

What is your favourite season?

I like spring, seeing all the new flowers beginning to grow, the trees budding with fresh leaves, and also it is not too hot to sit in the sun in the garden and write. Sometimes the summer is just too sizzling for me in the sun!

Where can we find you?


Facebook Author Page:


Authors Reach:

Blog Tour: Mortiswood Tales Weekend BlitzKaelia Awakening by Gina Dickerson
Also by this author: Kaelia Awakening, Underleaf, The Pennington Christmas Curse, Kaelia Falling
Series: Mortiswood Tales,
Also in this series: Kaelia Awakening, Kaelia Falling, Evil Rising
Published by Authors Reach on 27th February 2016
Pages: 347
Amazon KindleAudible

“They’ve been waiting lifetimes for you, Kaelia. They want you and will stop at nothing to have you.”
The warning’s rung in Kaelia’s ears since she discovered she’s far from the ordinary girl who grew up in the coastal town of Margate. She has power. The first time she shows it, death strikes, the second, she loses someone special, and on the third, her mother disappears.
Destiny is coming for Kaelia and there’s nowhere she can hide. THEY have stepped out of the shadows to find her. For generations, there have been whispers of The Chosen One. They speak of a name - Marrock - whose destiny entwines with that of The Chosen One.
Kaelia must avenge the wrongs, uncover who Marrock is, find her mother, and ...
Facing forces of depraved evil, magic, and myth, Kaelia’s search leads her through magical forests and unearthly realms.
Who, or what, can Kaelia trust? Is she strong enough to survive the horror? All she knows is her life will never be the same again...

Blog Tour: Mortiswood Tales Weekend BlitzKaelia Falling by Gina Dickerson
Also by this author: Kaelia Awakening, Underleaf, The Pennington Christmas Curse, Kaelia Falling
Series: Mortiswood Tales #2
Also in this series: Kaelia Awakening, Kaelia Falling, Evil Rising
Published by Authors Reach on 27th February 2016
Pages: 301
Amazon KindleAudible

With the promise of power comes the threat of the ultimate sacrifice...

Losing those she loves and learning she’s The Chosen One catapulted Kaelia’s life into the fast lane. Having battled Dybbuk demons, discovered an unexpected ally in the form of a Vallesm, and ventured through Niflheim, her adventure is far from over.
Determined to fulfil her destiny as the one who will destroy The Salloki, Kaelia still has many obstacles to overcome. As secrets rise to the surface and Kaelia’s powers continue to evolve, she is not the only one fighting a battle...
Can Calix find a Rosealrium bloom in time to stop Cadence’s transformation? What exactly is the truth behind Bran’s connection to the goddess Hel? And will Kaelia finally uncover what happened to her mother?
One thing is certain, Kaelia is not the only one who is evolving...


a Rafflecopter giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway

About Gina Dickerson

Gina Dickerson lives by the Thanet coast on the north-eastern tip of Kent, in the UK, with her family and playful Siberian husky. She is a full-time author and writes romantic suspense with a twist, horror, and fantasy because her characters refuse to play nice and wind up with more than a few bone-rattling skeletons in their closets.

She is the author of the murderous romantic suspense novels Lies Love Tells and Unveiling Christmas, the twisted short story collection, Underleaf, as well as the fantasy, adventurous romance series Mortiswood Tales – the first in the series being Mortiswood: Kaelia Awakening. She has also written fashion and shopping columns for a local newspaper.

When she’s not writing, Gina loves rummaging in vintage clothes shops, taking way too many photographs, and leafing through fashion glossies.


One response to “Blog Tour: Mortiswood Tales Weekend Blitz

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.