Review: Ruin and Rising

Posted 24th December 2018 by Emma in Reviews / 0 Comments

Review: Ruin and RisingRuin and Rising by Leigh Bardugo
Narrator: Lauren Fortgang
Also by this author: Shadow and Bone, Siege and Storm, Six of Crows, Crooked Kingdom
Series: The Shadow and Bone Trilogy #3
Also in this series: Shadow and Bone, Siege and Storm
Published by Audible Studios on 17th June 2014
Genres: Fairytale, Fantasy, YA Fantasy, Young Adult
Length: 10 hours and 57 minutes
Format: Audible
Source: I bought it
Amazon Kindle
One StarOne StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

The capital has fallen.

The Darkling rules Ravka from his shadow throne.

Now the nation’s fate rests with a broken Sun Summoner, a disgraced tracker, and the shattered remnants of a once-great magical army.

Deep in an ancient network of tunnels and caverns, a weakened Alina must submit to the dubious protection of the Apparat and the zealots who worship her as a Saint. Yet her plans lie elsewhere, with the hunt for the elusive firebird and the hope that an outlaw prince still survives.

Alina will have to forge new alliances and put aside old rivalries as she and Mal race to find the last of Morozova’s amplifiers. But as she begins to unravel the Darkling’s secrets, she reveals a past that will forever alter her understanding of the bond they share and the power she wields. The firebird is the one thing that stands between Ravka and destruction—and claiming it could cost Alina the very future she’s fighting for.

After the last book, I was so eager to carry on with the story but I also didn’t want it to end so I wanted to drag this last book out for as long as possible.

Alina is in hiding again but things are different. She’s not alone and there’s something wrong with her powers. Again she is both frustrating and badass in this book. She is not a natural leader. All she’s wanted her whole life is to be loved but now the fate of Ravka lies in her hands and she’s not sure she’s the one for the job

Mal is so much less annoying in this book. It’s like he’s finally realised that there’s a lot more on the line than just his feelings. He realises there are people that need saving and just gets on with doing his bit.

While this may be the last book in the trilogy don’t think that Leigh will go easy on you. Oh no, this book will swallow you whole, rip you up and spit you back out. You will never be the same again when you read this book. Leigh broke my heart when she did what she does to Nikolai. Literally ripped it into teeny tiny pieces so that it will never, ever be whole again.

This series not only got into my heart but also under my skin. It’s one of those series that once you start you realise why everyone is always talking about it. While I was immensely sad to be at the end I was very excited to start the Six of Crows duology and I am counting down the days until King of Scars is released and I can be back in this world.

About Leigh Bardugo

Leigh Bardugo is a #1 New York Times bestselling author of fantasy novels and the creator of the Grishaverse. With over two million copies sold, her Grishaverse spans the Shadow and Bone Trilogy, the Six of Crows Duology, and The Language of Thorns—with more to come. (To hear about new releases, tour dates, and giveaways first, sign up for Leigh’s newsletter here.) Her short stories can be found in multiple anthologies, including The Best of and the Best American Science Fiction & Fantasy. Her other works include Wonder Woman: Warbringer and the forthcoming Ninth House. Leigh was born in Jerusalem, grew up in Southern California, graduated from Yale University, and has worked in advertising, journalism, and even makeup and special effects. These days, she lives and writes in Los Angeles, where she can occasionally be heard singing with her band.


Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.